Kurkowski Law -- South Jersey Employment Lawyers
Kurkowski Law -- South Jersey Employment Lawyers FREE CASE EVALUATION

Kurkowski Law -- Criminal Defense

Let a former prosecutor defend your liberties.

Daniel Kurkowski’s experience as a prosecutor gives you the advantage of an attorney who can think like the opposition and anticipate their strategy, while protecting your rights. He knows what evidence it takes to prove these crimes and when the State lacks this necessary proof. Furthermore, you will have an attorney with extensive trial experience defending your case. Hiring a former prosecutor gives you the inside advantage.The benefit to our clients is this: your attorney has argued both sides of the courtroom.

Our expertise in criminal law includes:

Assault & Battery
Aggravated Assault / Assault with a Dangerous Weapon
Armed Robbery
Sexual Assault
Sexual Contact
Bad Checks
Bail Jumping / Outstanding Warrant
Breaking and Entering
Careless Driving
Credit Card Fraud/Theft
Criminal Coercion
Criminal Mischief
Criminal Restraint
Disorderly Conduct/Disorderly Person
Distribution of Child Pornography
Domestic Assault / Domestic Violence
Driving on Suspended License
Driving Without Insurance
Drug Possession
Drug Possession (Marijuana)
Drug Possession with Intent to Distribute
Drug Possession with Intent to Distribute in a School Zone
Drunk Driving / DWI / DUI / Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
Entering an Unlicensed Structure
False Imprisonment
Firearms or Weapons Charges
Invasion of Privacy
Insurance Fraud
Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Property Damage
Minor in Possession of Alcohol
Municipal Matters
Ordinance Violations
Outstanding Warrants
Receiving Stolen Property
Reckless Driving
Resisting Arrest
Restraining Order Violations
Sexual Assault
Suspended License, Driving
Terroristic Threats
Traffic Violations
Underage Alcohol Possession


Under New Jersey Criminal Laws, indictable criminal offenses are categorized as first, second, third, and fourth degree charges. First and second degree crimes are considered to have a "presumption of imprisonment". If you are found guilty of a first or second degree New Jersey criminal charge, you will be sent to prison. Third and fourth Degree criminal charges do not have any presumption of imprisonment if you do not have any previous criminal convictions on your record. Any prior convictions you do have on your record will be considered and factored in to the sentencing process if you are found guilty of a third or fourth degree charge.

First Degree – First Degree crimes are obviously the most serious criminal matters. Offenses in this category include murder, kidnapping, armed robbery, rape/sexual assault with penetration, and some other very serious charges. The penalties for conviction for first degree criminal charges are 10-20 years in state prison.

Second Degree - Second degree crimes include sexual assault, aggravated assault with serious injury, kidnapping, robbery without a gun/unarmed robbery, endangering the welfare of a child, eluding police, computer pornography crimes, and the more serious drug charges. The penalties for conviction for a second degree criminal offense under New Jersey laws are typically 5-10 years in state prison.

Third Degree - Third degree crimes include most drug charges, theft/shoplifting charges, property damage charges, burglary charges, and most assault charges. If you are found guilty of a third degree criminal offense in New Jersey, the range of penalties is from non-custodial probation (i.e., probation without jail time), to up to five years in prison. You can also get probationary sentences that may include jail time up almost one year.

Fourth Degree - Forth degree crimes include some drug charges, theft/shoplifting charges, some sexual charges, assault charges, stalking, and a number of other charges. If you are found guilty of a fourth/4th degree criminal offense in NJ, the range of possible penalties is from non-custodial probation to up to 18 months in prison.



The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)  requires employers of 50 or more employees to give up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to eligible employees.. more

The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD) makes it unlawful to subject people to differential treatment based upon the characteristics that make up a particular individual -- race, nationality, age, sex, marital status, perceived sexual orientation.. more

The New Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection Act is one of the most far-reaching whistleblower statutes in the nation. Aimed to protect employee “whistleblowers,” the statute makes it unlawful for an employer to take adverse employment action(s) against an employee.. more


Name: Last:

Phone: E-mail:



Web Design and SEO by Figytech
Copyright 2011 Kurkowski Law